Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Morimoto Asia - Main Dining Room

Morimoto Asia – Main Dining Room

We just tried Morimoto Asia and I wanted to do a short review.

Atmosphere. While the place was nice and new, I liked some aspects of the modern design, but not others. There is an industrial feel to it that makes me feel uncomfortable.  We had to dine in the bar area because it was too late for regular dinner.  Their bar area isn’t designed well, most of the seating is on small hard wood stools around small high top tables, the stool was uncomfortable and slightly unstable, considering they just opened the restaurant in the last couple months, those chairs shouldn’t feel rickety. The late night menu consisted of sushi and appetizers mostly.

Prices. Some of the pricing is downright shocking.  There are things on the menu for crazy/stupid high prices. Alcohol was definitely overpriced.  This is not a place I would want to go to order sushi dinner and sake. A three ounce pour of sake was $12?! Most house sake is usually in the $10 for about 8 ounces. So at that price $12 for 3 ounces which is  $4/ounce, 8 ounces would be comparable to $32. That is just outright ridiculous.  We can easily go through 4 (10 oz.) bottles of sake at dinner with friends, so at a reasonable place also on Disney property that would be $40 (and our local place only charges $7.50 per 8 ounce carafe), at Morimoto Asia that would be $128 equivalently. They are pricing their sake like it’s hard liquor. No thanks. We asked if there was a house sake, and the waitress said that was the house brand. In other words, I won’t be having sake with sushi here, and that is pretty lame.

Steamed Chicken Dumplings - 4 per order $10

Steamed Chicken Dumplings – 4 per order $10

Food.  Chicken Dumplings – skip it, for $10 for 4 dumplings, it wasn’t worth it. I’d guess it was the same for the pork or vegetable dumplings as well. The dipping sauce was tangy, I think it was a combination of soy sauce and rice wine vinegar. These dumplings seemed like what I can buy at my local Asian Grocery, which I have made at home in a steamer basket at had similar results. I was hoping these would have been something more special. We like the chicken potstickers at Nine Dragons in Epcot better.

Tempura Shrimp Roll, Spicy Tuna Roll, and California Roll (Morimoto Asia)

Tempura Shrimp Roll, Spicy Tuna Roll, and California Roll (Morimoto Asia)

The sushi, I would recommend trying a roll or two, they were good. Portion was small-ish, about 6 pieces on most, some were 5 like the Soft Shell Crab roll. Overall the sushi tasted good, fresh. The wasabi seemed stronger than most places. They offer tempura crunch for a $2 up-charge, and they do offer white or brown rice for the roll. We stuck with white. I think I’ll probably go to Tokyo Dining instead since their sushi is just as good, cheaper, and their sake is also better priced. (Plus Epcot has fireworks at night, so that is a bonus.)

Service.  Although eager to please, the service was not top notch.  There were a lot of mistakes made. Lack of communication or common sense being the main source of all of the problems. Mistakes with sushi presentation, separate orders were just plated all together. Despite the lack of customers at this late hour, our service seemed extremely slow. Our bills were also made out incorrectly, it took 3 times to straighten it out and each time took about 5-10 minutes, and I’m not even sure if the first two tickets were voided properly. I’m going to have to check our credit card, which is a hassle.  When a customer has to go through such hassle to get a bill corrected multiple times something isn’t right.

Overall. I would go back again to try a regular dinner service, however I’m my expectations have been considerably lowered, and my overall excitement about eating here is gone. Curiosity satisfied.