Tags

, , , , ,

Disney Dollars (an old $10 Bill)

Disney Dollars

I am usually really good about not spending money, for instance, I don’t have tons of shoes, or designer bags, or fancy clothes. We kept the same TV for about 15 years because it was still “good”, basically a super heavy old-style 32″ Sony that lasted a really really long time. Most people were buying flat-screens back when they used to cost over $2,000. Not me.

My weakness is Disney stuff, I collect Christmas ornaments, kitchen and household items, Tsum Tsums, sometimes Disney pins, etc. Lately, I have just tried really hard to avoid buying anything from the Disney Store. I think what really woke me up, was that I was looking at my online order history,  I saw that I had ordered once a month for about 4 months!!

 

Mickey Mouse Advent Calendar

Mickey Mouse Advent Calendar

The advent calendar took me about 5 years to actually purchase, I didn’t want to spend that much money on it. I eventually got it on sale (25% off).  I usually don’t buy things at full price, and I usually will wait a while before making a purchase.  My main impulse buys are sale items, when something is discounted I tend to allow myself to buy it – justifying it because it has been deeply discounted.  That can add up.

Hallowreath (Halloween Wreath)

Hallowreath (Halloween Wreath)

Now, given that I had ordered about 4 months in a row, what did I have to show for it?  The Tsum Tsums just got stuck in the closet with the rest of the others, the Disney plates and bowls, just got stuck in the kitchen cabinets and aren’t getting used, and the Disney ornaments got put on a small tree in the closet for now.  So, I’m not really even enjoying these items.  I ordered a couple personalized towels, we’ve used those a few times, but all in all, I’m not really in need of anything else – even though I love Disney stuff. I was going gaga over the Alice in Wonderland and Star Wars Tsum Tsums – they were on clearance for $1.99 each, but I didn’t order anything.

It’s been good not spending the money, and it’s been nice not buying more clutter. I’d really like to set up a display area where I can set up my books, videos, DVDs, Disney toys, and items in a fun way, maybe get a corkboard for displaying pins. But for now, I’m going to keep resisting the urge to shop.

 

 

