Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Homemade Pumpkin Muffins

pumpkincake

Are you getting ready for fall? I’m looking forward to fall.  I’m not really a die-hard pumpkin fan, but I do like pumpkin pie, and who doesn’t like the smell of home cooked baked good wafting through the house.

I’ve been craving something sweet lately and was wondering what to make. I found a two ingredient recipe but thought it was missing something, so here is my version, I think a little milk helps in the mix and gives them a better rise.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins!

Healthy – low fat, no added vegetable oil or eggs. 

Ingredients:

1 can 15 oz. puree of pumpkin (I used an organic pumpkin puree, already had it in the pantry from last Thanksgiving!)

1 box cake mix – carrot cake or spice cake (I used carrot cake mix)

1/4 cup of milk – soy milk or almond milk is okay (I used organic soy milk)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix ingredients together in a medium/large bowl with a spatula or spoon until combined well.

Spoon approximately 3/4 full into cupcake molds or cupcake wrappers in a muffin/cupcake pan.

That’s it, really simple and easy.

I made 6 muffins and one small cake, I used a 9″ square Pyrex baking dish for the cake.

If you decide to make a cake or loaf, be sure to spray it with light cooking spray like canola or veggie oil (not olive oil flavor).

At this point you can add toppings, like shredded coconut, walnuts, almonds, dried fruit, cinnamon and sugar, brown sugar, oats, chocolate chips. If you have these items already then why not mix it up a little.  I’d recommend adding no more than about a teaspoon or tablespoon on top of the uncooked cups.  The batter is going to swell as it cooks and the topping may fall off if it is overloaded.

Put in the oven and set the timer to 15-18 minutes and check it, add time if needed and recheck.

My batch took about 20 minutes until they cooked through with no more wetness. You can use a toothpick or knife to check for done-ness. When the toothpick or knife comes out clean it is cooked all the way through.

I tried one and it was really delicious, can’t wait until tomorrow, it will be even better out of the fridge!

 

