The Canterville Ghost

The Canterville Ghost

I just finished reading The Canterville Ghost a short story by Oscar Wilde this week.  I downloaded it for free on my Kindle.

One word…awesome.  I was hooked from the start.

I confess I haven’t read any Oscar Wilde until now, but it’s so apparent from reading this story that he was so incredibly talented, witty, and clever. I am looking forward to reading more by Wilde.   I know the story of Dorian Gray, but only through movies.

The story is quite humorous at the start and takes a more serious tone towards the end as you see the story unfold about the ghost Sir Simon.

When I have a chance I’m going to see if I can watch some movies based on the book to see how it translates to film versions.

My favorite quote from the book:

“It was his solemn duty to appear in the corridor once a week, and to gibber from the large oriel window on the first and third Wednesdays in every month…”

