Tags

, ,

French Toast

French Toast

Stale bread? No problem!

One of the easiest ways to use up stale bread is by making French toast.  I had a whole loaf of Italian baked bread that had gotten a bit stale, no worries, it makes excellent French toast.

In addition to the bread you will need eggs and milk (or soy milk). You can add some flavoring like vanilla extract or a little bit of almond extract (or dash of amaretto), I added a splash of Rum Chata since I had some in the fridge. You could add a little butter or sugar to the mixture, or spices like cinnamon or nutmeg, but it’s optional – according to your taste.

I just make it plain and add something when it’s done, since everyone seems to like their own toppings in our house. My current favorite it Bonne Maman Cherry Preserves.

Bonne Maman Cherry Preserves

Bonne Maman Cherry Preserves

When it’s finished you can use powdered sugar, cinnamon and sugar, jelly, jam or preserves, maple syrup, honey, chocolate syrup, caramel syrup, butterscotch syrup, fresh fruit, nuts, etc.  I’ve managed to salvage quite a few stale loaves over the years.  Another good way to use up stale bread is bread pudding, one of my favorites.

 

