Tags

, ,

Mixed Berry Cobbler (before cooked)

Mixed Berry Crisp (before cooked)

Mixed Berry Cobbler

Mixed Berry Crisp

I haven’t found a recipe I like for the crisp topping.  I’ve been trying different variations of baked fruit with pastry topping, and so far this seems to be the best yet. It’s just been a series of trial and error batches. A previous version I made had a biscuit like topping without oats, which was okay, but not what I was going for.  The family is usually enthusiastic enough to eat whatever I make, thankfully they aren’t as picky as me.

For this batch, I used two pouches of Publix Greenwise Fruit, 1 bag of Mixed Berries, 1 bag of Blueberries. A light sprinkling of brown sugar over the berries, about 2-3 tablespoons.

The topping I made here was made from Bisquick dry mix for the flour portion, 1 stick of butter, 1 pack of oats, and about 1/3 cup sugar. I made sure to add enough Bisquick to make it crumbly, I could tell I started out with too little flour, the finished mixture before baking was like the consistency of wet sand. I used an individual breakfast sized pouch of oats. I love oats in baked desserts like this, I also love oatmeal cookies.

If the topping mixture is too wet i.e. too much butter vs. flour, it will sink and melt down into the fruit while it cooks. I didn’t want it to turn out like pie crust either.

Baked it at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes, until topping was golden brown.

I thought it was definitely the best one so far, and my husband said that it tasted better the next day, he liked it better cold right out of the fridge.

Next batch probably will be peach. Yum.

