Tags

, , , , ,

My baked beans

My baked beans

Every once in a while I’ll make baked beans as a side dish to go with dinner, usually I’ll make some collard greens or kale to go with this, I had made baked chicken with BBQ sauce for the main.  Here is my last batch of baked beans, they came out pretty well. They cooked for about 2 hours.

For most of my whole life, I thought baked beans were just what you get out of the can, I remember Van Camp brand was served a lot in our house, my dad liked hot dogs and beans for dinner sometimes.

My mom asked why my beans don’t taste like the ones from the can, lol.  While all the advertising has us believing that you can just open the can and serve, it’s really just the starter for better baked beans. The secret is that you take the canned beans and dress them up a bit and then cook them again!

I took two large cans of Bush’s Vegetarian Baked Beans with the liquid, I added half an onion – chopped, a generous dose of Heinz Ketchup, and a little bit of Heinz Classic Yellow Mustard.  I used to add brown sugar, and you can do it if you like, but it’s already plenty sweet enough for my family after it’s been baked, I try to cut down the extra sugar where I can.

These are great hot or even cold the next day. They are sweet enough to taste like dessert. The caramelized edges and top are very tasty. If you have the time to make them it’s worth making it yourself than buying deli pre-made. The pre-made kind don’t even taste good, they are watery and tastes like they came right out of a can anyways.

Happy baking!

