Tags

, , , ,

Brownie Brittle for bottom crust

Brownie Brittle for bottom crust

Cheesecake batter

Cheesecake batter

Cheesecakes ready for the oven

Cheesecakes ready for the oven

Finished cheesecakes

Finished cheesecakes

Cross section

Cross section

I found a really simple recipe for cheesecake for two.

For the bottom crust, you will need some kind of cookie, like a Nilla wafer, or like I used here, a bit of Brownie Brittle. Actually, you could get away with not using anything for the bottom crust, but you might only be able to fill up 4-5 cupcakes worth with the batter.

For the batter, you will need:

8 oz. cream cheese (soft, best to leave it out on the counter for about 2 hours) I used the 1/3 less fat kind.

1 egg (also leave it out on the counter, un-cracked until ready to use)

1/3 cup of sugar

1 teaspoon of lemon juice

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Combine the batter well, you can use a whisk or an electric beater.

I used an ice cream scoop to portion out 6 cupcakes worth. It was just right.

I cooked my batch for a total of 25 minutes on 350 degrees, then I shut off the oven and left them in for 10 more minutes – we prefer them to be cooked well, if you can see from the photo, it looks just a bit concave with a lot of caramel coloring on the top, the caramel color was a result of leaving it in the oven that extra ten minutes.

If you like them to be less cooked, just keep an eye on them and check them around 22-25 minutes.  You can check them with knife to see if they are cooked all the way and take them out then.

They were even better the next day.

I will be making these again this weekend, I bought some cherry pie filling to use for the top of these.  I like that they are in individual cups, I rather hate having to make giant cheesecakes it’s always been so tedious. This recipe was really easy and I’ll be using this all the time. 🙂

