Tags

, , , , , ,

At the entrance of Epcot, there are a series of granite monuments, many of them have steel plates mounted on them, and many of them don’t. These were installed in 1999. On these steel plates are small etched portraits of guests who purchased a legacy engraving. Disney stopped offering the “Leave a Legacy” program in 2007. Since then, there haven’t been any new additions (etchings).

I have mixed feelings about this whole installation, on one hand I feel like it should all be removed, it’s outdated, and this installation wasn’t original to Epcot. It reminds me of a modern graveyard or a memorial. Since 1999, who knows how many people on those little steel etchings have died. On the other hand, if I had my own etching, perhaps I wouldn’t want it removed, and would probably think it was cool. I don’t want to be insensitive to those who do have legacies there. Perhaps they can move all the steel plates to another area where there are empty walls to fill, there is plenty of wall space around.

It’s just a really strange installation, I’m sure Disney thought it was a good idea at the time. Now that they removed the Sorcerer’s hat at Hollywood Studios, I’m wondering if they have plans to remove this eyesore as well. At Magic Kingdom they have thousands of carved brick pavers which are incorporated to the walkways around the entrance of the park, I like this approach better. Currently, there are no active programs where you can leave your mark at WDW.

Is it just me, or does anyone else have any opinions about this?

