Tags

, ,

Apple Cake

Apple Cake

I have made this recipe many times. I found this recipe at allrecipes.com
I do not add nuts and I usually cut down on the sugar and oil. I don’t know exactly why it’s called Romanian Apple Cake, there are other recipes that are very similar: German Apple Cake, and Apple Cake IV. The recipes vary by 1-2 eggs, a little more sugar, or a little more oil. Basically they are all variations on the same thing.

Every time I’ve made this before, even with altering the sugar and oil a bit, the result has been great. Especially after one night in the fridge. It tastes so much better the next day.

Today I’m using 1 oz. of Rum Chata instead of Vanilla Extract.
1/2 cup of oil and 1 cup of soy milk.
And 2/3 cups of sugar.

I’m using organic Red Delicious Apples and I’m leaving the skins on.

Comments: This time, the resulting “cake” came out more like an apple bread pudding, it was good, it also needed a little more sugar, which I just sprinkled a little on top. It’s also good with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. 🙂

The original recipe is below.

Romanian Apple Cake
5 apples, peeled and cored
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan. Cut the apples into 1 inch wedges. Set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs and sugar until blended. Mix in the baking soda, oil, cinnamon and vanilla. Stir in the flour, just until incorporated. Fold in the apples and walnuts.
Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake in the preheated oven for 55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly. May be served warm or at room temperature.

