Tags

, , , ,

Found some cool old cookbooks from the used book store.

Here is one for Banana Bread out of The Gasparilla Cookbook.

Banana Bread
1/2 cup of shortening or 1 stick of margarine
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup mashed bananas (3-5 bananas)
2 cups sifted flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
2/3 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Cream the shortening, add sugar slowly, cream well. Add eggs and beat. Add bananas.
Sift together flour, salt, and baking soda, then add to mixture. Add vanilla and nuts (if desired).
Bake at 325 degrees in a 2-quart loaf pan for approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes. Test center for doneness. Cool thoroughly, wrap in foil, and keep in refrigerator. Best for slicing after at least one day.

A few comments, I’m not sure how much volume this recipe will make and I’m not sure if it really would require 1 hour and 15 minutes. I would like to try this next time I have some ripe bananas to get rid of. Perhaps instead of using nuts, I will chop up 2/3 cup of dried apricots. Most of these items are pretty readily available in my kitchen which makes it easy to whip up a batch. I don’t have any bananas right now, but I have frozen fruits, I could try a blueberry or peach version which I’m sure would be very good.

