Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Believe it or not, this was our first time visiting the Plaza Ice Cream Parlor, just goes to show that even someone with over 30 years of WDW park experience can still find something new to do (not that long ago we also tried The Plaza Restaurant – another first). It’s not that we didn’t know about the Plaza Ice Cream Parlor, it’s that we never decided to stop in for ice cream. Usually, we head over to Storybook Treats and grab a brownie or cookie sundae from there or we’ll grab a Dole Whip or Orange Twist in Adventureland. The lines at the Plaza Ice Cream Parlor are usually very long – even out the door on most occasions, but we got lucky and there was a lull so we got in line. I took that time to look over the menu and decide what I wanted to order. For those of you using the Disney Dining Plan, this would be a great place to use Disney Dining Plan Snack Credits.

Plaza Ice Cream Parlor Menu

Plaza Ice Cream Parlor Menu

I hemmed and hawed over what I wanted and which flavors I was going to pick. I originally thought about getting the sundae, but I’m not really a big fan of the extra toppings, so I decided on a two-scoop cone. The Mickey Mouse Kid’s Cone is adorable! They put little Mickey ears on the cones, too cute, I wish I was able to get a photo of one, but I didn’t want to be a weirdo taking photos of someone else’s dessert!

Plaza Ice Cream Parlor

Plaza Ice Cream Parlor

Plaza Ice Cream - 2 Scoop Cone

Plaza Ice Cream – 2 Scoop Cone

I have never had Birthday Cake Ice Cream, so I was feeling adventurous and ordered one scoop of that, and one of the Cookie n’ Cream. This was AMAZING. Truly. The Birthday Cake Ice Cream was really awesome, it actually tastes like Birthday Cake & Ice Cream! What? Why haven’t I had this before. Who would ever need to have both separately again? I love Carvel ice cream cakes, but this had a lot more flavor – little bits of cake toppings and icing. I love that they are serving Edy’s, that means I can go to the grocery store and get a pint of Birthday Cake ice cream whenever I want. I’m definitely going to have some for my birthday this year. The Cookies n’ Cream was great too, and they complemented each other very well. It was so good I would get the exact same thing next time.

Plaza Ice Cream - All American Sundae

Plaza Ice Cream – All American Sundae

I only had a taste of the All American Sundae, it was very peanut buttery, which I like. If you like peanut butter this is a real winner. It was one scoop of vanilla, one scoop of chocolate, with peanut butter and chocolate syrup, whip cream, peanut butter and chocolate chips, and a cherry on top.

I can’t think of a better place to sit and enjoy an ice cream, especially after most people have left the park and there are only a few people left. It’s very beautiful and relaxing. The new hub expansion is very nice, the new fountains, landscaping, and grounds are pretty. I was also able to take some photos of an almost empty Main Street on our way out, yay!

