Tags

, , ,

Quinoa & Broccoli

Quinoa & Broccoli

I’m trying to add quinoa to our diet as a healthy alternative to rice, pasta, or potatoes. I haven’t really come to appreciate it as much as I should. It is full of protein, antioxidants, and vitamins, but it can be really bland. After trying this method of preparation, I can see a lot more possibilities for its usage.

Ingredients:
1 cup rinsed quinoa (any type you like, red, white, or mixed, I use organic)
2 cups water (I use filtered – like Brita or Pur – water when cooking anything that absorbs the water)
2-3 tablespoons of healthy fat, you can use olive oil or “healthy butter” like Smart Balance or similar.
1 clove of garlic, minced
Salt to taste
PLUS a vegetable of your choice, basically about 2 cups worth. I used 1 bag of boiled broccoli florets.
This would work well with cooked chopped zucchini, squash, mushrooms, carrots, bell peppers, onions, even mashed sweet potato.

Instructions:
Cook your 1 cup quinoa, garlic, and 2 cups water in a small pot on the stove. Follow the instructions on the bag or box. Usually a med-high heat for 15 mins. Turn off burner, remove from heat and cover. Let the grains sit for another 15 minutes, then fluff the grains with a spoon or fork, add your butter and salt to taste.

Cook your vegetable separately. Then add your favorite cooked vegetable to the finished quinoa.
I added one pound of cooked (from frozen) broccoli florets. After cooked, I chopped them into smaller chunky pieces and added to the quinoa and stirred well to combine.

It came out great and was more appetizing than plain quinoa.

Next up, quinoa (mixture of red and white) with sautéed zucchini and bell peppers, instead of putting the oil/butter into the quinoa, I used it to saute the veggies, then added everything with the quinoa. I already had chick peas cooked, so I also threw in about a cup.  The great thing about cooking this, is that anything goes, if you have other veggies, you can always add them in too.

Zucchini & Yellow Pepper

Zucchini & Yellow Pepper

Mixed Quinoa

Mixed Quinoa

Quinoa & Veggies

