Tags

, , ,

I reached my breaking point about 2-3 months ago. I can’t remember the exact day it happened. I stepped on the scale and I gained 10 lbs. seemingly overnight. I have been overweight for years, but the fact was that my weight was constant, it didn’t really change. It was consistently the same, a couple pounds up or down, but always the same.

I have tried dieting on and off, I have exercised on and off, and no matter how good I start out, it always seems to just fizzle. In the last 10 years I have tried but eventually got nada out of it and then stopped working at it. That 10 lbs. more… was the straw that broke me. Mentally, emotionally, physically, everything all tied together just was screaming at me that this was it. I can’t sit back and live like this anymore.

I decided that I would cut out about 80% of the meat from my diet. I never ate that much meat to begin with, but I was going to focus on healthier sources of protein, and eating more vegetables and fruits. I decided that I would some light cardio everyday, starting out slow and working my way up on the recumbent bike. I would do more arm exercises and start using light weights. I would try to make healthy substitutions when faced with eating choices.

So, it’s been a couple months, and it’s going pretty well. I started with 15 minutes a day for the first few days, then upped it to 30 minutes a day. After a month or thereabouts, I worked my way up to 45 minutes a day, everyday, on the bike. I’ll add another 15 or 30 minutes if I feel like I ate too much during the day that I need to burn off. Plus light weight lifting on alternate days. I have been doing arm circles too to tone my arms. I am using an informal approach with the arm circles, each time I use the restroom, I’ll do 40 reps of the arm circles. So, in one day I could potentially be doing hundreds of reps, but at only 40 each time it’s really easy. At first this was quite hard, it definitely gets easier. I don’t keep track, and I don’t do them when out in public, just when I’m at home.

I eat mostly tofu and vegetables, brown rice, barley, lentils, beans, salads, fruits, yogurt, chicken, seafood. I get to splurge a few days a month, about once a week I something I normally wouldn’t eat – like some pizza, buttered potato, or dessert. I try to avoid fried foods and sweets. I do eat a lot more salads. I usually gauge my meals according to my activity level. I’m not depriving myself of food which is great, that usually makes you quit faster than anything else. I’m not counting calories either. I’m sure I’m not going to get the best results doing it my way, but I am changing my whole lifestyle and I think that is the best way for me.

I’ve seen a change in my arms and legs, a small decrease in my waist. Even thought I have really only lost about 10 pounds, the but the increase in muscle tone is noticeable. My clothes are looser. I have also gained a healthier attitude about exercise and food. All the rest of the weight I have to lose is very important, and I know I will get there eventually. I try not to weigh myself too often because it fluctuates and I find any negative emotions related to weight to be counterproductive. Now that I have been working at it, I don’t want to stop. I like to read about how other people have lost weight, and it always comes down to changing your lifestyle, everything else will fall into place.

