I finally found an acceptable way to deal with frozen ground turkey.  I hate thawing it in the microwave, it always leaves hot spots and ends up cooking the edges.  Plus the extra step is time-consuming.  We usually freeze ground turkey in 1 to 1.5 lbs portions.  We buy the 3lb pack and will either freeze 1/2 or 1/3 of the larger pack.  So, often times, we don’t have any thawed, but have frozen portions in the freezer.  It’s frustrating to wait for it to thaw out on it’s own.

So here is what I did.  I grabbed a large sauté pan, put the frozen ground turkey in the pan, plus 1.5 to 2″ of water, crank the stove to high to get the water boiling, season the water with salt, pepper, a small squirt of Thai shiracha sauce, red pepper flakes, and start to let that turkey cook.  I scrap off the bits are they thaw, and loosen up the frozen bits.  Eventually all the turkey is cooked in the boiling water.  I’ll reduce the heat to medium or medium-high, and then toss in fresh sliced mushrooms (1 pack) and onions (1 whole onion sliced).  Stir in the veggies and keep mixing them in until they reduce in size, the mushrooms shrink down a bit.  Once the veggies are cooked, I take 2 packs of gravy, it can be anything, brown gravy, turkey gravy, chicken, mushroom, it doesn’t matter really, open the packs of gravy and toss into the pan, stir it in really good for 2-3 minutes.  There should be at least 2 cups of water remaining in the pan before you put in the gravy packs, you can eyeball it.  Once you get the gravy stirred in really well and it thickens up pretty quickly.  I’ll add in about 1 cup of shredded cheese, maybe a little more, just add to your own taste.  Once the cheese gets melted in, it’s done.  If you are cooking 1.5 lbs of turkey you’ll probably need a 3rd pack of gravy to get it thick enough.

We’ve eaten it like this as a meal, but I’ve also made mashed potatoes and added this as a topping.  It’s kind of like cottage pie or shepherd’s pie.  The turkey mixture tastes kind of like Philly cheese steak to me. It’s really delicious, and surprisingly it was cooked straight from the freezer.  It also reminds me of a high-end home-made hamburger helper.  Surprisingly, I’ve actually created something from ingredients in the fridge with no idea of how it would turn out, and it’s something really tasty.  I’m just glad I finally figured out a good way to deal with that frozen turkey!

