Flipping through my Cooking with Mickey around our world cookbook and found a recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies that used to be served at Epcot’s The Land pavilion.  Not sure how many people remember the old Farmers Market food court set up they had back then.  There were at least 5 different shops serving different types of food, one had soups and salads, one had desserts, etc.  This Farmers Market idea fit in perfectly with the Food Rocks show and the Land ride.  It’s not really that much different today in concept, the Sunshine Seasons Food Court has just basically revamped the same idea just newer.

Some quick notes about this recipe. If you are like me, I am concerned about using shortening because it’s really high in fat and trans fat.  I’ve read that you can get trans fat-free shortening, which is something I would consider doing if making this recipe. I haven’t bought shortening in a couple of years and at the time I had last bought some I don’t think the trans fat-free versions were available – or at least I was not aware of it. Also, you can substitute butter instead of shortening, but the cookies would come out flatter because butter melts (and burns) quicker than shortening, hence flatter and crispier cookies.  Usually, I don’t cook with butter for cookies, I’ll buy the “diet” butter, they make a variety of cooking sticks that are “healthier” for baking.  Of course, changing the fat you use will change the flavor and texture of the cookie, but everyone has different dietary requirements so adjust accordingly.  If the fat content is a concern, I would just carefully read the labels at the store of what is available and choose accordingly.

For more adventurous bakers you can always add in a little bit of something extra, chopped nuts, coconut flakes, or a spoon of peanut butter, to add a different flavor or texture.  Or you can change the chip type to white chocolate, peanut butter chip, mint chocolate chip, toffee chips, etc.  I recommend using parchment paper instead of aluminum foil or non-stick cooking spray, in my experience it helps prevent burning on the bottom of the cookies and they don’t stick to the paper.

 

~ Chocolate Chip Cookies ~

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup shortening

1 egg

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons cake flour

1/3 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 package (8 ounces) chocolate chips

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Yield: 2 – 2 1/2 dozen cookies

Cream together the sugar, shortening, salt, baking powder, vanilla and egg until light and fluffy.  Fold in cake flour. Add chocolate chips, stirring just to mix evenly.  On plastic wrap, shape into two 2-inch-in-diameter rolls. Chill thoroughly.  To bake, cut into 1/2-inch slices.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes.

